Iowa Fly Fisher

Yes, fly fishing in Iowa 

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > New Guy in Town

TNFlyfisher

Hey Guys, 

I am a new grad student at Iowa State University. I am from NE Tennessee where, as our license plate says, "Smallmouth is King". Is there any good places near me in Ames to target smallies? I dont need big fish i just need some bronzebacks! Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

August 18, 2016 at 2:49 PM Flag Quote & Reply

iowaflyfisher
Site Owner

Fish the South Skunk River between Story City and Ames, especially in the vicinity of Soper's Mill Park. See the recent Forum Post "Skunk River 7-30-2016" by FishnDave. Also note backwatergallery's blog post, "Bell's Mill to Tunnel Mill," which describes the Boone River. That's less than an hour from you.

August 18, 2016 at 5:35 PM Flag Quote & Reply

FishnDave

Welcome!  There's even Smallies in Squaw Creek, just west of campus.  :)

What graduate program are you in?

August 18, 2016 at 5:59 PM Flag Quote & Reply

TNFlyfisher
I am in the PhD Toxicology program! I will plan on trying the Sopers Mill area on Saturday! Any chance of finding carp?
August 19, 2016 at 12:15 AM Flag Quote & Reply

backwatergallery
Administrator
There are carp in the South Skunk (and all other rivers in Iowa). The level of the South Skunk rose and fell rapidly earlier this week, so while it is back down to a wadeable level - I wouldn't be surprised if it was a bit too turbid for a really successful carp outing.

And there's more rain forecast Friday night into Saturday morning. If you click on the "homewaters" tab at the top of this page you'll see a list of rivers, a recommended level, and a link to the current NWS river gauge read-out. If a river rises above the recommended level it's pretty much blown out. There are other useful links with similar information in the "NE Iowa" forum post.